R.U.M.S. - Rewa Ultra Mega Solar LTD.

Rewa Ultra Mega Solar Limited (RUMSL) was formed in 2015 and is a Joint Venture Company of Madhya Pradesh UrjaVikas Nigam Limited (MPUVN), and Solar Energy Corporation of India (SECI). RUMSL has been designated as Solar Power Park Developer (SPPD) by Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) to develop large-scale solar parks in the state of Madhya Pradesh. RUMSL is developing solar parks under MNRE’s Ultra Mega Renewable Energy Power Projects (UMREPP) scheme. RUMSL  undertakes the entire gamut of activities for development of  Solar Power Project; this included conceptualization, market consultations, financial and legal structuring and bid process management, as also development of land and associated infrastructure.

RUMSL has developed 750 MW Rewa Solar Project and 250 MW Mandsaur Solar Park. 750 MW Rewa Solar Project which is amongst the most significant solar projects in the world, was fully commissioned on 3rd January 2020. It has since been supplying affordable and clean electricity to Madhya Pradesh Power Management Company (MPPMCL), the state-owned discom, and Delhi Metro Corporation Limited (DMRC).

The Rewa project has been acknowledged in India and abroad for its robust project structuring and numerous innovations. Its transaction structure has been recommended by MNRE as a model for other states to follow. Rewa also received World Bank Group’s President’s Award for innovation and excellence and was included in the Prime Minister’s “A Book of Innovation: New Beginnings. The Project has also been appreciated in Global Infrastructure Facility, created by the World Bank, for its optimum distribution of risks.

RUMSL is now developing 1500 MW Solar Parks in Agar, Shajapur, and Neemuch districts in the Northwest region of Madhya Pradesh. 1500 MW solar parks will likely be completed by September 2022. The power from 1500 MW solar parks will be supplied via the national grid to Indian Railways in eight states.

The other upcoming projects of RUMSL are 600 MW Omkareshwar Floating Solar Park, 1500 MW Chattarpur Solar Park and 1400 MW Morena Solar Park.